Please allow me to introduce myself, I’m a man of wealth and taste…

Over the past week we’ve been taking a moment to get to know a little more about the speakers we have lined up for Web & PHP Con 2013. We know they’re a great bunch of people but we want you to know that too! So what better way to get to know a little bit about them, their session and what they’re most looking forward to at the event than with a short Q & A.

So, without further ado, let us introduce Stefan Priebsch.

priebsch_stefan

Stefan Priebsch unites expert knowledge with extraordinary sense when to use which tool. His specialties are object-oriented development and software architecture. As an internationally acclaimed author and speaker he thrills auditoriums and likes to share his tremendous practical experience.

1. Describe what we can expect from your talk at Web & PHP Con in 140

 characters.

I am involved in multiple talks, so do I get 140 characters each? ; – )

Valuable information, maybe a little surprise here and there, and a fair
bit of entertainment

2. How did you first get involved in coding?

I was twelve years old when my Dad bought a Sinclair ZX-80. Since I had
no clue what a computer could possibly be used for, I chose to find out.

3.What advice would you give aspiring web developers?

Keep learning, and make it a habit to question and re-evaluate your own
thought patterns and best practices on a regular basis.

4. Which individuals do you most admire in the tech world and why?

Everybody who contributes to Open Source, because they make the world a
little better every day.

5. If you could have 3 famous people round for dinner (living or dead) who would it be?

That’s a tough question. Would I have dinner with all three at the same
time, or individually? Putting, say, Richard Stallmann next to Bill
Gates might defeat the actual purpose of the dinner.

If I were to invite Alan Rickman, could I ask him to dress up as
Professor Snape? I’d also find Anthony Hopkins an interesting guest, but
since he always makes me think of Hannibal Lector, I’d be afraid of him
having me for dinner.

I would also find somebody like Alexander the Great an interesting
guest, but I’m not really sure if we would be able to overcome the
language barrier. So that basically puts many really interesting people
from former times out of perspective, including everybody not speaking
English or German.

Putting all this into perspective, my pick would be my wife and my two
children. They are famous for making my life so much more interesting.

6.Would you rather fight one horse-sized duck or 100 duck-sized horses?
Explain your reasoning.

I am a friendly person, and since neither horses nor ducks have ever
been aggressive to me, I see no reason to put up a fight. I would rather
choose to walk away in peace.

7. What are you most looking forward to at Web & PHP Con?

That’s hard to say, because there is so much. I love being in Silicon
Valley, and Software & Support runs great conferences. The conference
schedule alreadly looks very promising, and the hallway track and
networking opportunities are always great at conferences.

Leave a Reply

